Released on Tuesday, the mammoth 4,155-page bill cleared a procedural vote held by the upper chamber later that same day, with 70 senators supporting and only 25 opposing. Despite objections from House Republicans and several of their GOP Senate colleagues, 18 Republican senators joined Senate Democrats in passing the wasteful bill, at a final vote of 68-29.

Among the Republicans who voted in favor are Sens. Roy Blunt of Missouri, John Boozman and Tom Cotton of Arkansas, Susan Collins of Maine, Mitt Romney of Utah, Lindsey Graham of South Carolina, John Cornyn of Texas, Shelley Moore Capito of West Virginia, Jim Inhofe of Oklahoma, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, Rob Portman of Ohio, Jerry Moran of Kansas, Mike Rounds and John Thune of South Dakota, Mitch McConnell of Kentucky, Roger Wicker of Mississippi, Richard Shelby of Alabama, and Todd Young of Indiana.

Three GOP senators — Richard Burr of North Carolina, John Barrasso of Wyoming, and Kevin Cramer of North Dakota — didn’t even bother to vote on the bill.

By helping Democrats pass an omnibus instead of a short-term funding package, Senate Minority Leader McConnell and Senate GOP leadership have erased any and all leverage the House’s incoming Republican majority would have over spending issues for most of 2023. This means conservative priorities, such as fixing President Joe Biden’s manufactured border crisis, will go unaddressed for another year.